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SITUATION 1: A head coach uses vulgar and profane language when addressing the base umpire. The base umpire ejects the head coach 

without first issuing a warning. RULING:When an unsportsmanlike act using profane language directed at an umpire is judged to be a 

major violation, the penalty is an immediate ejection. No warning is necessary. (3-3-1f2 Penalty) 

SITUATION 2: A written warning accompanied by a bench restriction must occur prior to an ejection. RULING: If an unsportsmanlike act is 

judged to be a major violation, an ejection may be made without a prior warning being given. Additionally, there are specific acts in Rule 3-

3-1l-q, where the penalty is an immediate ejection. (3-3-1f-k Penalty, 3-3-1l-q Penalty) 

SITUATION 3: A head coach is upset about a close call at home plate. During an animated discussion, he bumps the plate 

umpire. RULING: The head coach is ejected. Physical contact with an umpire, even if unintended or accidental, shall result in an ejection of 

the offender. (3-3-1q Penalty) 

SITUATION 4: The first base assistant coach is upset over an “out” call on a steal at second base. The assistant coach goes to the area 

around second base and, while arguing the call, kicks dirt on the base umpire. RULING: The assistant coach is ejected; no warning is 

needed prior to the ejection. The head coach is restricted to the bench for the remainder of the game. (3-3-1q Penalty, 3-3-1f6 Penalty) 

SITUATION 5: During the course of the game, the plate umpire has utilized numerous non-verbal, preventative warnings to the head 

coach. In the sixth inning, the coach continues to complain about various calls and is ejected by the plate umpire. RULING: Unless the last 

event was a major unsportsmanlike act, the head coach must first receive a written warning and be restricted to the bench before an 

ejection. (3-3-1f Penalty, 10-2-3j) 

SITUATION 6: Having previously received a written warning and a restriction to the dugout for a minor unsportsmanlike outburst, the coach 

again loudly complains about the plate umpire’s strike zone and performance. RULING: The coach is ejected from the game. Having been 

previously warned and restricted to the bench, any subsequent minor or a major violation results in ejection. (3-3-1f Penalty) 

SITUATION 7: What is a head coach who is restricted to the bench allowed to do? RULING:Even though the head coach is restricted to 

the bench and may not occupy a coaching box, he is still the head coach. He still represents the team in communications with umpires and 

may address and coach base runners, the batter, defensive players and other coaches. He may hold team conferences at the dugout or 

bench area. He may leave the bench/dugout area to attend to a player who becomes ill or injured and may request to talk to an umpire 

concerning a rule or rule enforcement. However, he shall be ejected for any further misconduct. (3-2-1, 3-3-1f Penalty) 

SITUATION 8: What may a coach who is ejected do? RULING: A coach who is ejected shall immediately leave the vicinity of the playing 

area and is prohibited from further contact – direct or indirect – with the team during the remainder of the game. His presence away from 

the field shall be such that he cannot be seen or heard from the playing field. He may return when requested to attend to an ill or injured 

player. (3-3-2) 

SITUATION 9: A pitcher comes to the mound wearing a “camouflaged” compression sleeve that does not extend below the 

elbow. RULING: A camouflaged compression sleeve worn by the pitcher is legal. (1-4-2) 

SITUATION 10: A pitcher is wearing a compression sleeve on his pitching arm that extends to his wrist. The compression sleeve is a solid 

black color. RULING: This compression sleeve is legal. Compression sleeves worn by the pitcher that extend below the elbow shall be 

solid black or solid dark color. (1-4-2) 

SITUATION 11: The pitcher has a white compression sleeve that extends only to his elbow on his (a) pitching arm, (b) non-pitching arm or 

(c) both arms. RULING: This is legal in (a), (b) and (c). Compression sleeves worn by a pitcher that extend only to the elbow may be white, 

gray, solid black or a dark color. Compression sleeves may be worn on one arm (pitching or non-pitching) or both arms. (1-4-2) 



SITUATION 12: The pitcher is wearing a long, dark black compression sleeve to his wrist on one arm and a white compression sleeve that 

extends only to the elbow on the other arm.RULING: This is legal provided the plate umpire does not judge this to be distracting to a batter. 

(1-4-2; 6-2-1f) 

SITUATION 13: The pitcher has a compression sleeve that extends to his wrist. The portion of the sleeve that is below the elbow is a dark 

solid color, while the portion of the sleeve that extends to the elbow is white. RULING: This is illegal. A compression sleeve that extends 

below the pitcher’s elbow must be solid black or a solid dark color. (1-4-2) 

SITUATION 14: The home team is wearing a vest-type uniform with a white shirt worn underneath. The sleeves of the shirt under the vest 

extend only to the elbow. RULING: This is legal. A pitcher’s shirt worn under the vest is not an undershirt. It may be white, provided it does 

not extend below the elbow. (1-4-2) 

SITUATION 15: The visiting team is wearing a vest-type uniform with a white shirt worn underneath. The sleeves extend to the players’ 

wrists. The plate umpire informs the coach that this is not legal for the pitcher. The pitcher changes to a black shirt under the vest with 

sleeves that extend to his wrists. The opposing coach argues that this is not legal as uniforms must be of the same color and 

style. RULING: It is legal, in this instance, for the pitcher to wear a shirt under his vest of a different color than the rest of the team. Any 

sleeve worn by the pitcher that extends below his elbow must be a solid black or a solid dark color. (1-4-1, 1-4-2) 

SITUATION 16: The catcher helps warm up a pitcher in (a) the bullpen or (b) on the field. He takes a crouch position and is wearing a skull 

cap and a catcher’s mask that is not attached.RULING: This is not compliant equipment for the catcher. The catcher’s helmet and mask 

combination shall meet the NOCSAE standard and shall have full ear (dual ear flaps) protection. (1-5-4) 

SITUATION 17: A left-handed pitcher attempts to pick-off the runner at first base. Simultaneously with his throw, the pitcher picks up his 

pivot foot and places it behind the pitcher’s plate. The throw bounces off the first baseman’s glove and goes into dead-ball territory. The 

base umpire awards the runner third base, ruling that the pitcher was an infielder and the award is two bases. RULING: The award should 

be second base; only one base. The status of the pitcher at the time he made the attempted pick-off throw was still that of a pitcher, not an 

infielder. After the pitcher places his pivot foot on the ground clearly behind the pitcher’s plate, his status then changes to that of an 

infielder. Moving his pivot foot at the same time he attempts the pick-off does not change his status as a pitcher. (6-1-3, 8-3-3d) 

SITUATION 18: With a runner on first and no outs, the batter hits the pitch in the left-center gap and R1 attempts to reach third base. The 

center fielder overthrows third base and the pitcher, backing up the play, catches the throw, and then steps into the dugout. RULING:This is 

a two-base award to both runners, awarded from the time the pitcher stepped into the dugout. The throw from the outfielder was complete 

when the pitcher caught it, and the subsequent action is a new one. If both runners are between second and third, they both will be 

awarded home. If they were both between first and second, R1 is awarded third and the batter is awarded second base. (5-1-1i, 8-3-3c2, 8-

3-5) 

SITUATION 19: R1 is attempting to score from third base and is obstructed by the catcher who tags him on the play. After the play is over, 

the home plate umpire declares “Time” and awards the runner home. R1 does not touch home plate. The next batter enters the batter’s box 

and the plate umpire announces “Play.” The pitcher next requests “Time” and appeals the runner not touching home plate. RULING: This is 

a legal appeal. The runner will be declared out and the run will no longer count. All bases must be touched, even on an award. A dead-ball 

appeal may be made before the next legal or illegal pitch. (8-2-1, 8-2-5 Penalty) 

SITUATION 20: The batter singles to right field and (a) the ball rolls to a stop and the right fielder, attempting to pick up the ball, kicks it into 

dead-ball territory; or (b) the bounding ball strikes the right fielder’s leg and deflects into dead-ball territory. RULING: In (a), the right fielder 

applied the impetus that caused the ball to go into dead-ball territory, the same as if he had thrown it there. The award to any runner is two 

bases from the base occupied at the time of the kick. In (b), the force on the batted ball caused the ball to go into dead-ball territory, so the 

award to any runner is two bases from the base occupied at the time of the pitch. (8-3-3c, 8-3-5) 

 


